Skip to Main Content

YOUR RESEARCH PAPER: DATABASES

Research papers mean hours spent in the library, more hours toiling with notes and drafts, and the headache of dealing with the arcane rules of documentation. The information in this guide has been prepared to assist those who might have additional quest

Why Should I Use DATABASES?

Databases are like websites, but better for a few reasons...

  1. Databases are easier to search
  2. Databases will give you MUCH better results
  3. Databases are compiled for students by academics
  4. Databases provide all of the citation info you must have
  5. Databases can be trusted 100% of the time to give you good information

The basic definition of a database:  a collection of information organized to provide efficient retrieval.  The collected information could be in any number of formats (electronic, printed, graphic, audio, statistical combinations).  There are physical (paper/print) and electronic databases. 

 

Using Databases

http://destiny1.gilbertschools.net/cataloging/servlet/presentadvancedsearchredirectorform.do?l2m=Library%20Search&tm=TopLevelCatalog&l2m=Library+Search

There are some very specific things you MUST do when searching databases or you will be quite frustrated. Follow these steps:

  • Click on the link above to be directed to the EBSCO database chooser.
  • Login using the USERID and PASSWORD you were given.
  • To search the 17 general knowledge databases listed, click the box next to "Select All" and CONTINUE.
  • To select a more specialized database, click on the words "Select Another EBSCO Service."
  • No matter which way you search, here are some tips to make your searches better:
    • ​If your search term has more than one word, enclose it in "quotations" so that it will be searched as a phrase instead of each word individually.
    • If you cannot think of keywords or search terms, try Googling your whole question/statement before going to the databases. Read through the first page of results to find often repeated ideas/words...these can be your keywords.
    • Google likes full-text searching, but databases DO NOT. Therefore, it is important for you to combine search terms with the word AND or a + sign. You can also use NOT to eliminate search terms and OR to combine others.

Narrow Down Your Database Results

Once you are in the appropriate database(s), follow these steps to narrow down your results:

  1. Search a general term or keyword.
  2. Use the limiters on the left to narrow your results as folows:
  • Click on the box marked "Linked Full Text" to eliminate abstracts/summaries.
  • Move the "Publication Date" slider on the left to within your lifetime to get rid of old stuff. However, if your subject is scientific, don't read anything more than 3 years old and if it's technological, limit your results to the last year. Otherwise, your info can be obsolete.
  • Choose the "Source Type" that is most appropriate...it will usually be Academic Journals, as they are the most scholarly.
  • Next, under the "Subjects" section, click on "Show More" to see the entire list of subjects and choose the one(s) that fits your topic.

Using the MCLD Databases

As a resident of Maricopa County, you also have access to the Maricopa County Libraries. The link above will take you to their website. You may be asked for your zip code before you can begin searching. Follow these steps to access their databases, which are different from ours:

  1. Click on the drop-down arrow next to RESEARCH.
  2. Choose e-Sources.
  3. From the array of boxes which appear, you should click on whichever seems most appropriate.
  4. Next, you will see a few boxes which are links to databases. Search these in the exact same way you searched EBSCO.
  5. Or you can SCROLL DOWN to see about a bajillion magazines, newspapers and links to information related to your topic.